Dermatology SCE question banks compared
Last checked 2 November 2026.
If you are preparing for the UK Dermatology Specialty Certificate Examination, there are a handful of dedicated question banks to choose from. This page puts some of the banks you are most likely to find side by side. We are one of them, so read it knowing that. To keep it fair, every fact about another provider is what that provider states on its own website, with a link, as we read it on 2 November 2026. Prices and question counts change, so check each site before you buy.
If anything here is out of date or wrong, email support@studyderm.app and we will correct it.
Side by side
| Questions (as stated) | Price (as stated) | Free trial | Mock exams | Apps | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| StudyDerm | 1,957 (mostly best of five) | £49 a month, or £199 every 6 months (auto-renewing subscription, cancel any time) | First two units, with an account, no card | 20, 50 or 100 questions, 108 seconds each | Web |
| StudyPRN | 778 | £209 for 12 months (3 and 6-month access also offered; those prices show only when selected) | Free sample questions, with an account, no card | One 100-question mock | Web |
| DermSCE | 1,500+ | £75 for 1 month, £150 for 3, £200 for 6, £250 for 12 (standard prices, one-off, no auto-renewal; promotions shown when you pick a plan) | 25 questions, with an account, no card | 100 or 200 questions | Web and iPhone, with offline study |
| iatroX | Bank size not stated (two 100-question papers) | £29 a month or £99 a year (auto-renews; covers every iatroX exam bank) | Up to 10 questions a day, no account | Two papers of 100 questions, 180 minutes each | iOS and Android, with offline caching |
| The Konceptuals | 1,021 | Shown only after you log in | A free sample pack | Mocks linked, size not stated | Not stated |
Every entry for another provider is as stated on its own website on 2 November 2026.
What each provider says about its bank
StudyPRN says its bank "consists of 778 practice questions", with 100 of them making up its mock exam. It is web-based and needs an internet connection. Source.
DermSCE says it has "1500+ exam-style questions", 100 or 200-question timed mocks, histology slides for spot diagnosis, and web and iPhone revision with offline study. Payment is one-off with no auto-renewal. Source, pricing.
iatroX is a multi-exam platform: one subscription covers all its exam banks. For the Dermatology SCE it offers two 100-question papers of 180 minutes each, and its pricing page describes AI-adaptive sequencing and spaced repetition. Source, pricing.
The Konceptuals says it has "1021 guideline-concordant questions across 21 topics" in dermatology, and links to flashcards and mocks. We could not find a price on the subject page. Source.
Our content accuracy page sets out the checks every StudyDerm question passes, and that no doctor has approved the content.
How StudyDerm works
- A roadmap, not just a bank. 1,957 original questions in 34 units. Each unit opens with short primer cards. Questions are mostly best of five, the exam's own format, with some true or false, matching and ordering. Pass a unit's checkpoint and the next one unlocks.
- A source on every answer. Every question shows its explanation and links the source it was checked against.
- Missed questions come back. Every question you get wrong returns on a spaced schedule until you get it right, and weak-spot practice drills your lowest-mastery questions.
- Real exam pace. Milestone exams after every module and timed mocks at 108 seconds a question, the pace of the real papers, with no feedback until the end.
- A reason to come back tomorrow. XP for right answers, a daily streak, and eight ranks named after the skin, from Stratum corneum down to Subcutis.
- Licensed clinical images. Image questions use only public domain or Creative Commons pictures, each credited on our image attribution page.
Our questions are original. They are not recalls from the exam. StudyDerm is unofficial and not affiliated with, endorsed by or approved by the Federation or MRCP(UK), and nobody can honestly promise you a pass.
How to choose
- Try before you pay. Every bank above has a free trial or sample. Do a set of questions in each and see which explanations actually teach you something.
- Check the format. The real exam is two papers of 100 best-of-five questions, 3 hours each. See our guide to the Dermatology SCE for the format, dates, fees and the 2025 pass mark.
- Count the cost of the time you have. The 2027 exam is on 7 October 2027. Work out how many months you need access for before comparing prices.
1,957 questions in 34 units, timed mocks and spaced repetition for the Dermatology SCE.
Free to start. No card needed.